Five Fandom Friday – Less Common Fandoms

5fandomfriday1-990x400

THIS IS A SEGMENT CALLED 5 FANDOM FRIDAY.  EACH FRIDAY THERE WILL BE A TOP 5 LIST OF SOMETHING FANDOM RELATED.  TO LEARN MORE, VISIT THIS LINK.


This weeks topic is Five Lesser Followed Fandoms

ftgdrxwvdfqtaEdgar Allan Poe

Reading Edgar Allan Poe is what originally got me interested in writing. I remember being 13 years old, just entering middle school, and reading Annabelle Lee for the first time. When I read the words “But our love it was stronger by far than the love, Of those who were older than we…” my whole body became enveloped with goosebumps. After that, I read his complete works and immediately fell in love.

Gublernationuksqtqjdakfkk

Matthew Gray Gubler is the actor who portrays Dr. Spencer Reid on the TV show Criminal Minds. He has acted in so much more than that though, he played in the movie Life After Beth, How to Be a Serial Killer, Suburban Gothic, and is the voice of Simon in the Alvin and the Chipmunks movie series. He is also an artist, model, and has quite the witty sense of humor. He has a substantial following on Tumblr and other social media sites, me included.

l41lwamc8czaxeiaoThe Bruntouchables

The movie Limitless came out in 2011 and at the time my mom was a massive Bradley Cooper fan. We watched the movie and both thought it was fantastic. In 2015 it was announced that they would be doing a spin off in the form of a TV show. The first season just ended and I spent every episode on the edge of my seat wondering what was going to happen next. Many people in the Limitless fandom are lovingly calling themselves The Bruntouchables, due to a reference in one of the episodes. I can’t wait for next season to begin and won’t be surprised if this show accumulates a larger fan base.

Mythical Beastszu4fct5x8x172

I wouldn’t consider this fandom “lesser known” because they have a large community of fans, they call Mythical Beasts, but they definitely not spoken of as commonly as other fandoms. Rhett and Link are my favorite Internetainers and I watch their talk show Good Mythical Morning everyday. They have become part of my daily routine and help me and many others start our days off with a laugh, whether that be from watching them eat something disgusting like century eggs or listen them discuss how long it’s appropriate to wear the same pair of underwear, they are always bound to be entertaining.

ckdtbyo3uu5wsView Askewniverse

I have  always been a huge fan of Alan Rickman (Rest In Peace </3) but when I decided to watch his full filmography 15 years ago I never thought I’d stumble across a whole universe of movies that was new to me. After I watched Dogma I found myself engrossed by the satire and wit which then lead me to watching all of Kevin Smiths movies. I love the movie Chasing Amy so much that I played off of the name when I made my Xbox Live username, ChasingAlima. I can comfortably say that Kevin Smith is my favorite movie producer and I can’t get enough of Jay and Silent Bob. Just when I thought I couldn’t respect Kevin Smith more, I read his book (Tough Sh*t: Life Advice from a Fat, Lazy Slob Who Did Good) and immediately applied to college to follow my dreams. I still follow him on all his new endeavors, including his various podcasts, Comic Book Men, and Yogahosers.

 

 

 

10 thoughts on “Five Fandom Friday – Less Common Fandoms

  1. Gublernation FTW! I looove Criminal Minds. I have been binge watching them ever since they released all the seasons on Netflix. I’m terrified one day I’m going to jump on there and they will have cut it down. Awesome list!

    Like

  2. Matthew Gray Gubler is my love. He’s like my dream guy. 😀 And what can I say about Poe…moody, dark, handsome. Definitely love him.

    Like

Leave a Reply

