Five Fandom Friday – Five Nerdiest Things I’ve done/do.

This is a segment called 5 Fandom Friday. Each Friday there will be a top 5 list of something fandom related. To learn more visit this link.

This weeks topic is Five Nerdiest Things I’ve Done .

I changed it to five nerdiest things I’ve done/do because I sort-of struggled to think of things for this post. I’m having a bit of writers block.

1. Visited Platform 9 3/4 at King Cross station in London. In 2007 I raised money with a small group of students at my high school to take an international flight and tour England. Most nights were planned out for us and we spent most of our time on a tour bus. One of the nights however, we were allowed to venture around London and do whatever we pleased. We chose to ride the tube, Visit Platform 9 3/4’s (We did a photo-op but the photos are stashed away) and see STOMP perform. It was the best night of the trip.

2, Named my son after a comic book character. When I found out I was having a boy. I wanted to give him a meaningful name. What is more meaningful than something your mother and father both love? So we settled on one of our favorite X-MEN Characters, and named him Logan after Wolverine. Xavier gave Logan a run for his money though.

3. Cried tears of Joy when I saw Goo Goo Dolls in concert. Everyone has a band that has lyrics that speak to them. That band is Goo Goo Dolls. Their songs have motivated me and helped me through some through some tough times. I was so happy to finally see them live.

4. Playing “don’t touch the lava” while listening to One Jump Ahead from Aladdin. I’ll admit this one happened last night. I was listening to a motivational Disney playlist and One Jump Ahead came on and somewhere in between my lip syncing and dancing a thought popped into my head and I realized it’s the perfect “don’t touch the lava” song. It may sound strange but I am prone to random acts of “genius.”

5. Consistently hardcore fangirling. Whenever I get the news that an actor from one of my fandoms will be joining another one of my fandoms I get heart poundingly excited. I just can’t hold it in people! Martin Freeman in Marvel anyone?

 

Honorable Mention: Hair like Crazy Eyes. In late elementary school into middle school I used to do my hair like this often. I have very curly hair and it was a way to make it manageable. I know, it’s unexcusable. Suzanne pulls it off though!

16 thoughts on “Five Fandom Friday – Five Nerdiest Things I’ve done/do.

  1. Love your list, especially naming your little one after Wolverine. So cool. I am ashamed to say as a regular visitor to my nations capital I’ve yet to do platform 9 3/4! But you’ve put it at the top of the list for my next trip!!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. 1- so jealous of Platform 9 3/4. Someday I will go to the UK and this along with many Doctor Who related activites will be on my list.

    2- love that you named you kid after a comic book character that’s not totally obvious.

    3- I now have “One Jump Ahead” stuck in my head. Could be worse!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. When I go back (someday) I hope to do lots of fandom related things. Your right, it’s not totally obvious but if he was a girl he would have been Storm. Hahaha. Ah! I always have theme music stuck in my head, welcome to the club! 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

